job, Uncategorized

4 Months

4 months I was looking for something to do hoping to get paid one day. Nothing would come up. I actually got job offers but they were totally irrelevant. And the thing is I still believed I am an educated human being so I didn’t have to say yes to anything.

One day I was hanging out with other folks at the co-op and mentioned how useless my job search was. One of my co-artists was like, hey there is a pizza place hiring one block South from here. I decided to check it out but couldn’t find it. I came back and somebody took me there and introduced to the manager as an artist from the co-op. This is how I got my first job here.

Little did I know then about pizza making business. The year or so that I worked there most of my coworkers were hired and fired while I was still around. It does help to have someone who doesn’t smoke and works like crazy. They loved me there despite all the fights and heated arguments we had. I was really ready for something else though, something better I thought to myself.

My art thing was going great. I taught art classes at the co-op twice a month and sold my art once in a while. Don’t ask me how that worked out for a beginner artist in a foreign land. I have to make it clear, I had never made any art before the age of 30. No visual art, just music and dance.

1 thought on “4 Months”

Leave a Reply

