job, Uncategorized

Subbing

I love my new job because it’s very educational.  Meeting other teachers is a bonus.

On my first day the topic of all the classes was Private Prisons, I wasn’t sure what subject we did so I tried to remember my years in middle school, seems like I never heard of private prisons before in my life. That day I was lucky to do the same class 5 times in a row to remember at least something in the end.

The second day I was doing art classes, not what I had expected since it was middle school in a bad neighborhood but I met a really nice teacher there and it was what made my day. By the end of the day we felt like two legendary survivors recognizing each other’s incredible talent and strength.

The third day was Friday when I substituted for an ELA teacher in another middle school. I learned what detention means. The work was over by 1.30pm and I loved it.

Every day is different now, some of them are truly awesome and it makes up for the bad ones which seem to be not as awful after all. I loved high school PE classes, after middle schoolers any normal humans are perceived as angels. This is how you learn to appreciate things, I guess.

Leave a Reply

